The Harry Potter Spells Tag

As many of you all already know, I’m a Potterhead. I loved completing this tag and reminiscing about all the spells that Harry and the gang meticulously practiced at Hogwarts. Thank you so much to Fernanda @ Mystery Date With A Book and Paige @ Paige’s Pages for nominating me – you all should definitely visit their blogs if you haven’t done so already.

EXPECTO PATRONUM

A childhood book connected to good memories

Some of my favorite picture books (that I can still remember!) were The Very Hungry Caterpillar, The Giving Tree, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, and anything by Dr. Seuss.

EXPELLIARMUS

A book that took you by surprise

The beginning of Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch wasn’t well-written, and I wrongly predicted that the novel would be cheesy and cliché; instead, I ended up loving the setting and the characters (you can read my full review of the novel here)!

love & gelato

PRIOR INCANTATO

The last book you read

You can check out my reviews for The Rose & the Dagger and its prequel The Wrath & the Dawn here.

tw-and-td-and-tr-and-td

ALOHAMORA

A book that introduced you to a genre you hadn’t considered before

I’ve recently begun reading a considerable amount of fantasy, and I have Red Queen to thank for that! You can check out my review for the book and its sequel, Glass Sword, here and here respectively.

RIDDIKULUS

A funny book you’ve read

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh is a light, fun read filled with hilarious illustrations and relatable commentary. I’d recommend it to anyone who wants to laugh out loud!

hyperbole-and-a-half

SONORUS

A book you think everyone should know about

Although this book isn’t particularly life-changing or jaw-dropping, I feel as though everyone should read All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven at least once (you can check out lovely quotes from the novel here). It’s such a sweet, meaningful young adult contemporary novel, and I’m really looking forward to Niven’s upcoming release, Holding Up the Universe (I’ll find out if I’m chosen to receive an ARC soon!).

all the bright places

OBLIVIATE

A book or spoiler you would like to forget having read

I actually haven’t ever read a spoiler for a book with the exception of Dumbledore’s death, which I’m glad I knew about ahead of time so I could mentally prepare for it. A book I’d like to forget having read is The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead. I didn’t like it very much, and I felt as though it paled in comparison to The Selection series (you can check out my review for the book here); however, I will probably read the second and third book in the series that will be released in 2017 and 2018 because when I start a series I usually end up finishing it.

the glittering court cover

IMPERIO

A book you read for school

I actually enjoy most of the books I read for school, the latest being Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, a dystopian sci-fi that you should read if you haven’t already or reread if you have.

bravenewworld_firstedition

CRUCIO

A book that was painful to read

You can check out my review for We Are all Made of Molecules by Susan Nielsen here. The characters were immature and simply intolerable.

we are all made of molecules

AVADA KEDAVRA

A book that would kill (interpret as you will)

I’m going to interpret this as a book that is killer good, and that would have to be A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. If you haven’t started this series already, it’s past time you did! You can check out my review for A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury here and here, respectively.

I tag:

-Reg @ She Latitude

-Melissa @ Book Nerd Momo

-Jesse @ Books at Dawn

-Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books

-Donna @ Chocolatenwaffles’ Blog

-Jasmine @ How Useful It Is

-Jess @ JBelkBooks

-Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek

And whoever else wants to do this tag!

~Niraja

 

25 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Spells Tag

  1. Thank you for tagging me, Niraja! I haven’t read HP or even watched the films, but I had a great time reading your responses!! YES, to ATBP!!! ❤ ❤ If I do decide to post this one, I'll definitely let ya know!! Thank you, again! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a fun tag! I love all your answers, too; it’s funny that you should mention Hyperbole and a Half, because Anthony (From A Very Awkward Blog; I don’t know if you know him) has been trying to get me to read it forEVER, and I really need to buy a copy!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

