My Bookish History Tag

Thank you to Fernanda @ Mystery Date With a Book for tagging me! You should check out her lovely blog if you haven’t done so already! It took me a long time to get to this tag, but I really enjoyed answering these questions because they prompted me to reflect on some ideas I hadn’t visited in a while.

Here are the rules:

  1. Link back to whoever tagged you.
  2. Discuss based on these questions, or create your own to help you out!

Do you have any childhood favorites (I’m thinking along the lines of those chapter books in elementary school)?

There were many series I loved as a child, but the ones I remember impacting me the most were the Warriors series and all the Nancy Drew novels. Cats with superpowers thrilled me, and in elementary school, I hoped to either become a detective like Nancy or a lawyer like her father!

warriors

Is there a book/series that really got your reading hobby snowballing?

Definitely Percy Jackson and the Olympians! After starting (and finishing) that series, I became a huge Rick Riordan fan, and moved on to two of his other series – The Kane Chronicles and The Heroes of Olympus – as well as many others.

Percy-Jackson-and-the-Olympians-series

Are there any books you enjoyed, even though you had to read them for school?

I’ve actually enjoyed the majority of the books I’ve read for school. Some of my favorites include The Great Gatsby, The Things They Carried, and Of Mice and Men, to name a few. I love reading classics, and try to explore older literature in my leisure time as well.

gatsby eyes

Was there a book that changed the genres you read? (i.e. were you an avid reader of contemporary, but now it’s all about those dragons?)

Contemporary has always been my favorite genre as it is the easiest to relate to, but I’ve recently fallen for fantasy after reading (and loving!) Red Queen. You can check out my review of the novel here, and my review for its sequel, Glass Sword, here.

Are there any other books/series that hold a special place in your heart?

Many, many novels hold a special place in my heart, but if I had to pick one worth sharing it’d be To Kill a Mockingbird. To Kill a Mockingbird is the only novel that I’ve ever reread, and I plan on doing so many more times. Every time I pick up the novel, I learn something new about myself, the characters, or society as a whole.

to kill a mockingbird

What kind of bookworm are you now? You can mention anything. Can you easily read 100 books in 6 months? A slower reader? Are you a mood reader or do you set book goals? Do you hoard books? Do you have 79084 books on your TBR list?

This is something I’ve never thought about until now! I’m definitely an avid bookworm, and I’ve been one since I learned how to read (my parents have plenty of stories about my obsessions with literature and writing as a child). I’m a relatively fast reader, and I can usually finish a book within a few hours if I have time. I don’t set book goals; rather, I just try to read as much as possible, whenever possible, since I honestly can’t think of a single time when I wasn’t in the mood to read. And, as many of you already know, my TBR list has gotten impossibly long!

Do you have a shelfie for us?

Unfortunately, I don’t have a shelfie since my bookshelves are a bit cluttered and not in one location. I also borrow extensively from the library and only buy books I really, really love, so most of the books I own are required school reading material (but some of my favorites, nonetheless!).

I tag:

I encourage anyone who wants to do this tag to go for it even if I didn’t list your blog! It’s a lot of fun answering these questions and reading everyone’s answers! 🙂

 ~Niraja

27 thoughts on “My Bookish History Tag

  1. Awesome post! Thanks for the tag! 🙂 I love The Great Gatsby. I’m such a big fan of classic literature. Love your choices! I liked Red Queen. I own Glass Sword, but I still need to read it. I love fantasy so that’s awesome that you’re starting to get into it. I’m also big on contemporary romance. I can’t get enough of NA romances. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Omg, me too! But it’s ultra portable and it’s so much cheaper. I love my Kindle: I used to be so anti-Kindle! I just can buy so many more books this way. And I have little space. Once I have my own place, floor to ceiling bookshelves!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. To Kill A Mockingbird is truly splendid! I love that book, and have been sorta scared to read the sequel because I’ve heard mixed reviews… I really don’t want To Kill A Mockingbird to be spoiled!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m one of those who didn’t enjoy Go Set a Watchman as much as I hoped, but I understand why Harper Lee did what she did with GSAW. You should definitely read it though, it’s still a marvelous work! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

  3. This is such a neat tag! I love all your answers, too. 🙂 I enjoyed Red Queen as well, but although I liked Glass Sword, I thought Mare was pretty annoying for most of it… I’m looking forward to the third book, though!
    I haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird yet but I NEED TO. I keep meaning to, and I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. But so many people (including you, obviously) speak so highly of it!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

