Book Review: “Red Queen” by Victoria Aveyard

Rating: 5/5

“In school, we learned about the world before ours, about the angels and gods that lived in the sky, ruling the earth with kind and loving hands. Some say those are just stories, but I don’t believe that.

“The gods rule us still. They have come down from the stars. And they are no longer kind.”

red queen pic 2
Image Source: Amazon

I’m fairly cautious when reading a popular dystopian novel because I worry it’ll be too much like The Hunger Games or Divergent series. I’m even more cautious when reading fantasies, since I’ve come across too many novels with characters that have clichéd supernatural powers. That being said, Red Queen was a dystopian/fantasy novel I didn’t merely like or enjoy; rather, I loved it. The book didn’t have the most original characters or ideas, but Aveyard executed them phenomenally.

Red Queen was absolutely electric – there was never a dull moment in the story. It was so engaging that I found myself holding my breath and avidly turning pages, eagerly awaiting the next plot twist. Red Queen consists of plot twist after plot twist as Mare Barrow, our protagonist, realizes a painful truth: anyone can betray anyone. My favorite part about the novel was the characters, all of whom are beautifully flawed in their own ways. Oftentimes, characters in young adult literature are molded into unrealistic epitomes of human perfection, or sickening villains without a heart or soul. On the other hand, Red Queen boasts characters that are both good and bad, confirming the universal truth that no one is perfect.

Overall, Red Queen is a masterpiece, beautifully woven together to create an intricate tale of power and madness, love and rage, and loyalty and betrayal. I can’t wait to discover the surprises the second novel in the series, Glass Sword, holds (review coming soon).

~NS

17 thoughts on “Book Review: “Red Queen” by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

